Bush Tetras

Bush Tetras were a New York City band formed during the No Wave era. In fact, one of the founding members was Pat Place, an original guitarist for the Contortions. Along with singer Cynthia Sley (now with Command V), bassist Laura Kennedy, and drummer Dee Pop, the band made its debut in 1979. Their biggest successes came in the early 1980s with “Too Many Creeps” and “Can’t Be Funky/Cowboys In Africa.”

In 1983, Kennedy and Pop parted ways with Place and Sley, at which point Bobby Albertson and Don Christensen joined on bass and drums, respectively. At the time, Albertson and Christensen were also working with the Raybeats. (Albertson played bass on four tracks of the It’s Only A Movie! album.)

Bush Tetras originally called it quits in 1983. In the mid-1990s, the original line-up regrouped, releasing the album Beauty Lies in 1997. They packed it in for the second time in 1998.

In 2005, Place, Sley and Pop regrouped, bringing in bassist Julia Murphy. This version of the band still performs occasionally.

Original bassist Laura Kennedy passed away on November 14, 2011.







Laura Kennedy Obituary

One Response to “Bush Tetras”

  1. Cynthia Sley Says:

    Julia Murphy recorded “Happy” the second album for Tim/Kerr Records in 1998, which was shelved until ROIR released it in 2012.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: